Manage Users

As with most software systems, you use user credentials to provide secure access to Moogsoft Enterprise for your personnel. You can use the System Settings UI to manage the various attributes that define users and the actions they are allowed to perform inside Moogsoft Enterprise.

As an alternative to managing users in the UI, you can configure the system to allow Single Sign-On (SSO) via the Security Assertion Markup Language (SAML) protocol. If you have a large number of users, enabling SSO saves you from setting them up individually. It also improves security by requiring users to remember a single complex password instead of multiple credentials for multiple systems.

Within the SAML configuration you can specify a role, primary group and team to assign to users when they authenticate for the first time. See Configure Single Sign-On with SAML for more information. You can also authenticate users with Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP). See Configure Single Sign-On with LDAP for more information.

Manually Create and Edit Users

To view a list of users, navigate to Settings > Users. Use the search box on the left to filter the list. You can click the person icon to toggle the display of inactive users. Click + to create a new user or select a user to view and edit their attributes.

You cannot delete users. The system retains a history of all user activity, including collaboration posts and ownership of alerts and Situations. You can set obsolete users to inactive in the Personal tab. Moogsoft Enterprise includes the following predefined users:

  • Administrator: Super user role. For information on creating and editing roles, see Manage Roles.

  • Graze API user. Grazer role. This user is intended for system integration purposes, it is not a UI user.

  • System Owner: Super user role.

  • Moog: An anonymous system account used for unassigned alerts and Situations.

We recommend that you change the default password for each predefined user. Once you have set up your own users or enabled user authentication you may wish to deactivate the predefined users.

Edit User Details

Navigate to the Personal tab to view or edit the following user details:

  • Username with 32 characters maximum. Mandatory.

  • Full name.

  • Password. If you do not enter a password the user is created as an LDAP user.

  • Primary group. Mandatory.

  • Department.

  • Time zone if different to the system time zone.

  • Active status. Inactive users cannot log into the UI. New users are active by default.

  • Timeout. You can use the role timeout of 60 minutes or define a custom timeout period between 60 and 720 minutes (12 hours).

You can view or edit the user's email address or telephone number on the Contact tab.

Manage a User's Roles

Roles group the permissions users need to perform a set of tasks within Moogsoft Enterprise. See Manage Roles for information on creating and editing roles. You must assign at least one role to each user.

Assign a User to Teams

You can optionally group users into teams, to ensure that users working together view the Situations that are relevant to them. You can configure Moogsoft Enterprise to assign Situations to a particular team if they impact selected services or meet other criteria. See Manage Teams for further information.

Use Graze and MoogDb v2 APIs to manage users

See User management for the Graze API endpoints you can use to create and update users, and to return a list of all users in Moogsoft Enterprise.

See User Management for the MoogDb v2 methods you can use to manage users.

To learn more about Managing User Roles, watch the User, Role, and Team Management training video at Moogsoft University.